eMerge Dance Festival

Saturday, April 12, 2014 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm


SUBMERGED: Moving in the Tulsa Tunnels

Location: Tulsa Underground Tunnel System


The primary goal of the eMerge Dance Festival is to promote a revival of art’s culture-bearing and connective function by reintegrating it into communal settings. The mission of the festival is to support and promote community, interactive dance art, and civic participation.

Performing artists creating site-specific works and dance installations include:

•Nina Madsen

•Amy Morrow
•Kira Blazek
•Anna Bennett
•Maggie Boyett
•Living Water Dance Community
Portico Dans Theatre
•Jessica Vokoun & Rachel Bruce Johnson

The goal of this year’s festival is to re-imagine community spaces and serve to utilize dance to benefit a community of people. The theme of “emergence” is a direct connection between the type of dance project and helping this chosen community EMERGE into a creative vision. The primary goal of eMerge Dance Festival is to promote a revival of dance’s culture-bearing and connective function by reintegrating it into communal settings. Our community becomes aware of the vibrancy of its various member groups and promotes experience/viewing/participation in art/dance as a vehicle for promoting renewal and emergence of community connection: who are we and how do we fit together? 

Site-specific dance/performance is work created in response to a particular place, site, inspired by its architecture/design, the history and current use1.
Workshops (free with purchase of ticket)

eMerging Dance Workshop
Where: Legacy Dance Studio East
5582 S. Garnett Rd. Tulsa, OK)
When: Friday, April 4, 4-5:30

Outdoor Site Specific Dance Workshop
Where: Oral Roberts University gardens 7777 S Lewis Ave Tulsa OK (meeting place: Howard Auditorium dance studio)
When: Friday, April 11, 3-4:30 pm

This project was made possible with assistance from the Oklahoma Arts Council, the National Endowment for the Arts, Living Arts New Dance Committee and the George Kaiser Family Foundation,  John Eakin III, Wendy Thomas & Ralph Bendel, and Lori Sears.